By Mike Leone


July 30, 2019            FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(Hartford, OH)…The Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Sportsman Modified Series powered by Pace Performance is set to resume action this Saturday night (August 3) with its first of three Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Touring Series events of the season at Sharon Speedway.  C&R Tire is the event presenting sponsor.  Race time is 7 p.m.


The 2019 season actually got started with the 2018 "Apple Festival Nationals" make-up event.  The non-point Tour event that saw a total of 36 cars compete was won by Chas Wolbert.  The $800 victory was Wolbert's all-time leading fifth career Tour win.  Due to some rainouts and another event change, the only completed Tour points event has been at the nearby Trumbull County Fairground's Expo Speedway on July 11 when Rob Kristyak captured a thriller for his first career Tour win, also worth $800.


Kristyak, in his second full year of RUSH, not only leads the early Tour points, but also Sharon's weekly track points.  Kristyak is also poised to make a run at the $3,000 Hovis Weekly Series Championship, which is currently being led by Wolbert.  Other Sharon Hovis Weekly Series winners this season include Kristyak with two along with Garrett Krummert and Kole Holden with one a piece.


There has yet to be repeat Tour champion.  Larry Kugel won the inaugural title in 2015.  Brian Schaffer captured the 2016 title.  Former "Futures Cup" Champion, Kyle Martell won the Tour points in 2017, while last year saw Krummert crowned champion.  Sharon has held seven Hovis Tour events all-time with Wolbert winning four of them, while single victories have gone to Greg Martin, Steve Slater, and Justin Shea. 


At the end of the night on Saturday, the "Wheelman" Non-Winners race presented by Ohio Intra Express and C&R Tire will take place.  To date there have been four different winners in five races.  Amelia Clay was the most recent winner of the $75 to-win race last Saturday night as she currently leads the points over Jacob Wolfe. 


The Tour will return to Sharon two weeks later on August 17 for the sixth annual "Manufacturers Night" presented by MSD Performance with approximately $25,000 in valuable products being given away to eligible competing racers.  The third and final Tour show of 2019 at Sharon will be part of the annual "Apple Festival Nationals" on September 20-21 for $800 to-win.


"We have to thank Sharon Speedway for their continued support of the RUSH Sportsman Modified division," stated RUSH Director Vicki Emig.  "Sharon has been the home for the RUSH Mods since they debuted in 2014 and have been on their weekly schedule since 2015.  We also have to thank C&R Tire for stepping up and making Saturday's event possible."


Precise Racing Products will award a $100 gift card for the "Pedal Down" Hard Charger that passes the most cars on Saturday night.  The TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night” will award three bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate for a discount off any TBM Brakes purchase.


Officials will also determine the new Dirt Defender "Defensive Drive" to the driver that best defended his position throughout the night, and will receive a $40 product package.  The award could go to a driver holding off another for the final heat race or B main transfer position, a driver denying a hard charging racer a feature win, a move to stay on the lead lap before a caution, or any such deserving move. 


Officials will also determine the Sherwood Racing Wheels "Man of Steel" award winner as one that bounced back from an earlier mishap to finish the event strongly.  The selected driver will receive a certificate for a free Sherwood Racing Wheel.  The feature winner will also receive a Sunoco 5-Gallon Race Jug.  


Feature Payoff: 1. $600  2. $400  3. $300  4. $250  5. $225  6. $200  7. $170  8. $165  9. $160  10. $150  11. $140  12. $135  13. $130  14. $125  15. $120  16. $115  17. $110  18-24. $100.  Tow $50.


You do not have to a member of RUSH to compete.  The AMB/MyLaps transponders are required.  One-way driver radios are always mandatory at 454.000.  The entry fee is $25.  Pit passes are $30.  Pits are open throughout the afternoon with pit passes going on sale at 4 p.m.  A drivers meeting will be held at approximately 6 p.m. with racing at 7. 


Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller, and Kirila Families and is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road in Hartford, Ohio near the intersection of Routes 7 & 305. For more information, check out the website at www.sharonspeedway.com or call 330-772-5481. Become a fan of Sharon Speedway on Facebook at www.facebook.com/sharonspeedway and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/sharonspdwy.


RUSH Racing Series is brought to you by Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC & Pace Performance along with the support of Hoosier Tire, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Holley Performance Products, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply, FK Rod Ends, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Jones Racing Products, TBM Brakes, Performance Bodies & Parts, Racing Electronics, Dirt Defender, Wrisco Industries, Frankland Racing Supply, Landrum Performance Spring, Ontime Body & Graphic, Trailer-Alarms.com, Bonnell's Rod Shop, Zarin Truck & Automotive, Sherwood Wheels, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, Lincoln Electric, Velocita-USA, Classic Ink USA, CrateInsider.com, and Valley Fashions. 


E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604.  The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushsportsmanmods and follow us on Twitter @RUSHSportMods.