By Mike Leone


July 15, 2021               FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(Cortland, OH)...After the COVID-19 pandemic wiped out the 2020 Trumbull County Fair, racing returned to the 5/8-mile Expo Speedway on Thursday night in the first event at the track since July 11, 2019.  Thunderstorms closed in on the Trumbull County Fairgrounds during the evening hours, but the two-division show was completed before the storms rolled in.  The Pace Performance RUSH Sportsman Modified Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Touring Series has now been part of the last six Fairs with two shows held during the 2018 season.  This year marks the 174th Trumbull County Fair.


Making his first RUSH start of the season, Eric Gabany powered around Jacob Wolfe on the start and led all 20 caution-free laps of the feature to win the opener for the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Touring Series.  Gabany earned $800 for his third career Tour victory as he became the amazing seventh different winner in as many races at Expo!


"This is awesome to finally get one here," expressed the 36-year-old Mercer, Pa. driver of his Jerry Schaffer Racing/Turn 4 Toilets-sponsored #4s.  "I've always had bad luck here; smashed a few cars and blown a couple motors.  I'm sure they were catching up to me once I got to traffic, but I was hanging in there because I knew it would be tough to pass.  I just tried not to make any mistakes.  I definitely have to thank Jerry Schaffer, Kevin Coleman, and everyone that helps out." 


Fresh off his first career win on June 26 at Sharon Speedway, Wolfe turned in an excellent runner-up finish.  Wolfe actually closed in on Gabany on lap six, but got too high in turn four on lap 11.  Wolfe had to then fend off Shea for several laps before getting away.  Wolfe had one more shot in lapped traffic on lap 19, but Gabany wasn't to be denied.


"I wish I would have had a better jump on the start, but what are you going to do," acknowledged the 24-year-old Wolfe of nearby Warren, Ohio.  "I was trying everything I had, but couldn't catch him.  When I saw traffic, I was already too far behind because I had messed up.  I have to thank Russ King, my dad, my girlfriend, and Beacon of the Valley.  This is my first time running here so I think that's pretty good; it means a lot."


Shea, who leads both the Hovis Weekly Series and Wedge Motorsports "Route 7 Rumble" Series points passed Kole Holden on the start and pressured Wolfe on different occasions, but just couldn't make the pass and settled for third.  Tony Tatgenhorst started sixth and finished fourth after passing Holden on lap two.  Holden dropped to fifth at the finish. 


Greg Porter charged from 10th to sixth to earn the $100 Precise Racing Products "Pedal Down" Hard Charger gift card.  Preston Cope was seventh over Jordan Ehrenberg, former winner Chelsie Kriegisch, and 14-year-old Ben Easler in his Expo debut.  Dave Price was chosen as the Sherwood Wheels "Man of Steel" award.   Price had fuel issues in his heat race and was unable to complete a lap and thought he'd only be able to take the green; however, was able to complete all 20 laps, gain two spots and finish 14th.  Chas Wolbert blew up during the heat race and was selected as the TBM Brakes "Tough Brake of the Night" recipient.  Tatgenhorst and Wolfe won the heat races.


The Pace RUSH Sportsman Modifieds will complete the weekend with a pair of Hovis Weekly Series events on Friday night at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pa. and Saturday night at Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio.  The next Hovis Touring Series event will be on July 31 at Sharon part of the "Manufacturers Night" presented by MSD Performance.


Pace RUSH Sportsman Modified Hovis Touring Series Race #1 (20 laps, $800 to-win): 1. ERIC GABANY (4s)  2. Jacob Wolfe (7)  3. Justin Shea (14s)  4. Tony Tatgenhorst (63T)  5. Kole Holden (2)  6. Greg Porter (25)  7. Preston Cope (24)  8. Jordan Ehrenberg (JD57)  9. Chelsie Kriegisch (10)  10. Ben Easler (02)  11. J.C. Boyer (12)  12. Rob Kristyak (00)  13. Chas Wolbert (Albert 30)  14. Dave Price (111)  15. Jacob Jordan (28J)  16. Jessica Kriegisch (Michaud 132).  DNS: Brandon Albert (Wolbert C3).


Car Count: 17

Feature Lap Leaders: Eric Gabany (1-20)

Precise Racing Products “Pedal Down Hard Charger”: Greg Porter (+4)

Sherwood Wheels "Man of Steel": Dave Price

TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night": Chas Wolbert


RUSH Sportsman Mod Heat 1 (8 laps): 1. Tatgenhorst  2. Shea  3. Holden  4. Cope  5. C. Kriegisch  6. Easler  7. Jordan  8. J. Kriegisch  9. Wolbert.


RUSH Sportsman Mod Heat 2 (8 laps): 1.Wolfe 2. Gabany  3. Ehrenberg  4. Kristyak  5. Porter  6. Boyer  7. Albert  8. Price.


RUSH Racing Series is brought to you by Pace Performance together with Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC along with the support of Hoosier Tire, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Holley Performance Products, Hovis Auto & Truck Supply, Born2Run Lubricants, Flynn's Tire & Auto Service, FK Rod Ends, Schoenfeld Headers, Jones Racing Products, TBM Brakes, Performance Bodies & Parts, Racing Electronics, Wrisco Industries, Frankland Racing Supply, Landrum Performance Spring, Ontime Body & Graphic, Zarin Truck & Automotive, Sherwood Wheels, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, Stop-Fyre, Lincoln Electric, Velocita-USA, Waterstone Mortgage Hermitage,, and Wedge Motorsports.


E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is Like the Sportsman Modified Facebook page at and follow us on Twitter @RUSHSportMods.