By Mike Leone


June 6, 2017               FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


(Brookville, PA)...The 2017 Bicknell Racing Products Touring Series for the Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Sportsman Modifieds powered by Pace Performance will kick-off its third season this Friday night (June 9) at Thunder Mountain Speedway.  Race #1 of the eight-race campaign will pay $800 to-win.  Race time is 7:30 p.m.


In 2016, Thunder Mountain hosted two Bicknell Weekly Series events paying $500 to-win.  Adam Hilton topped an 18-car field in the first ever race at the facility on June 17, and then Brian Schaffer captured the July 29 event over a 17-car field.  A total of 22 different drivers participated in the two events.  Schaffer would go on to win the Bicknell Weekly Series Championship. 


"We're looking forward to kicking off our Touring season for the Sportsman Modifieds on Friday," acknowledged RUSH Series Director Vicki Emig  "New promoter, Rob Leonard, stepped up to host our first ever Touring Series race at Thunder Mountain and is excited to open our season with an $800 to-win event.  Thunder Mountain also has us on the card for a Weekly Series race paying $500 to-win on August 11.  Thunder Mountain is a smooth and racey track that should put on a great show on Friday night, and we expect a great field of cars."


Weather has played havoc on the early season Bicknell Weekly Series events, especially at Sharon Speedway where the Mods run weekly.  Sharon has completed just two events with Rocky Kugel and Kole Holden victorious.  Kugel's win on May 27 came over a all-time division record 30-car field.  Kugel has also picked up wins at Lernerville Speedway and Pittsburgh's PA Motor Speedway.  Josh Seippel won his first career RUSH Sportsman Modified feature on Mother's Day at Tri-City Raceway Park. 


The RUSH Sportsman Modifieds debuted in 2014, but no Touring Series was held that year.  In 2015, veteran Larry Kugel captured the inaugural Bicknell Touring Series crown, while last year, Brian Schaffer was crowned not only the Bicknell Weekly Series Champion, but also the Bicknell Tour titlist.  Schaffer is still looking for his first win of 2017. 


Ten Bicknell Tour events have been completed in two years with six different winners.  New York drivers Greg Martin and Adam Hilton each have a pair of victories as well as Nick Ritchey and Kugel.  Chas Wolbert and Chelsie Kriegisch also have victories.  Kriegisch made history last year when she became the first female to win a Touring Series event in the 10-year history of RUSH and was also the first female to ever win at Expo.


Friday's program will include warm-ups, heat races, a K&N Dash, possible B main, and a 25-lap feature paying $800 to-win, $125 to-start (complete payoff posted below).  The K&N “Cold Air Induction” Dash will be run for the first four drivers that finish outside of the feature redraw spots and will pay $100 K&N certificate to win, $50 K&N certificate for second with $25 cash going to the third and fourth place finishers.  


Precise Racing Products will award a $100 gift card for the "Pedal Down" Hard Charger that passes the most cars in the feature.  The TBM Brakes “Tough Brake of the Night” will award three bottles of Xtreme6 Racing Brake Fluid valued at approximately $45 along with a certificate for a discount off any TBM Brakes purchase.


RUSH Officials will choose the "Maxima Performance" Award for a driver that exhibits a performance worthy of such for both divisions.  The winner will receive a free case of either Maxima Semi-Syn High Performance Racing Oil or Maxima Performance Racing Oil of your choice.  In addition, the winner will receive one can of SC-1 clear coat, one 16-oz bottle of Maxima Cool-Aide concentrate, one 32-oz quart of Maxima PSF power steering fluid, and a Maxima t-shirt.  The value of this prize package is $170!  


RUSH Officials will determine the Sherwood Racing Wheels "Man of Steel" award winner as one that bounced back from an earlier mishap to finish the event strongly.  The selected driver will receive a certificate for a free Sherwood Racing Wheel.  The driver that finishes last on the lead lap will receive a $25 gift certificate from CrateInsider.com. 


Payoff: 1. $800  2. $500  3. $350  4. $300  5. $250  6. $220  7. $180  8. $175  9. $170  10. $165  11. $160  12. $155  13. $150  14. $145  15. $140  16. $135  17. $130  18-24. $125.  Tow $50.


You do not have to a member of RUSH to compete.  The AMB/MyLaps transponders are required.  RACEceivers are always mandatory.  The entry fee is $35.  Pit passes are $30.  Pits open at 5 p.m. with warm-ups at 7 and racing at 7:30. 


Thunder Mountain is a 3/8-mile dirt track that was built in 2005, and is in its first year under the leadership of Rob Leonard.  The track is located at 3406 Ramsaytown Road, Brookville, PA 15825.   For more information, check out their website at www.thundermountainspeedwaypa.com and like them on Facebook at www.facebook.com/rmmotorsportsllc.


RUSH Sportsman Modified marketing partners include Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC, Pace Performance, Hoosier Tire, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bazell Race Fuels, Insinger Performance, MSD Performance, Holley Performance Products, Earl's Performance Plumbing, Quick Fuel Technology, FK Rod Ends, Maxima Racing Oil, Sherwood Racing Wheels, Schoenfeld Headers, Jones Racing Products, Alternative Power Sources, Precise Racing Products, TBM Brakes, K&N Filters, Lincoln Electric, Velocita-USA, Classic Ink USA, CrateInsider.com, RockAuto.com, and Valley Fashions.


E-mail can be sent to the RUSH Racing Series at [email protected] and snail mail to 4368 Route 422, Pulaski, PA 16143. Office phone is 724-964-9300 and fax is 724-964-0604. The RUSH Racing Series website is www.rushracingseries.com. Like our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/rushlatemodels and follow us on Twitter @RUSHLM.